top of page

TOWIE star Lauren Pope talks about her beauty products business

Reality TV star and beauty entrepreneur Lauren Pope was one of the key speakers at this year’s Business Show event at Kensington Olympia.

Lauren started her hair business Hair Rehab London in 2007. The company manufacturers a range of hair products including clip-in extensions, salon professional extensions and hair styling tools.

Speaking at the event, Lauren recounted how she got into the cosmetics industry by accident.

"Ten years ago, I used to go to wig shops and hand-make hair clip-ins because back then they cost £400 to £500 for a pair. I could not afford that,”

One day, Lauren said she walked past a wig shop and saw what looked exactly like the hand-sewn hair clip-in extensions she was making for herself. She decided to start selling on the social networking website Myspace.

“I think I sold about six on Myspace and I literally thought I was balling. I thought ‘I am going to be a superstar’. It made me think – if six people want this product maybe there is something in it. And it all sprung from there,” Lauren recounted.

Award-Winning Company

Hair Rehab London has won awards alongside global hair brands such as L'Oréal, Lee Stafford and Toni&Guy. Lauren said being held in the same regards as these big brands within just ten years of being in business was an incredible experience.

“For me it is really satisfying because I am on a TV show that isn’t taken very seriously. I think people tend to think that this is not really my business. I think they also think it is not a professional salon product, which it is. So [ winning awards] just cements the hard work really. It helps people hopefully see [what I do] from a more professional point of view,” said Lauren.

Lauren is one of the cast members of the ITV2 reality TV show The Only Way Is Essex also known as TOWIE. Lauren also designs her own clothing collection, DJ’s in clubs around the world and is signed to top modeling agency Elite.

Lauren said she enjoys juggling her many business ventures, and each has its benefits.

“Reality TV is very stressful, but I am not stupid – I know my hair company is successful as it is partly because of TOWIE. My hair company was doing well initially. But as soon as I came on TOWIE it elevated the business massively,” said Lauren.

Social Media for Marketing

The beauty entrepreneur said social media is vital to her business.

“For us [social media] is our main tool of marketing. I think for every business you need to be on Instagram, especially if you are in the creative or beauty industry. It is free advertising,” said Lauren.

Despite rising competition in the hair business, Lauren said her hair business continues to thrive because she prioritises quality.

Some brands she explained, have failed within six to 12 months because they did things cheap and compromised on quality.

“People want value for money. Another thing that is really important is good customer service. It sounds so simple, but it really is a big deal,” said Lauren.

So what advice would Lauren give her younger self?

“Women can be in business,” said Lauren. “When I was younger, there weren’t really many business women. As far as I saw it, it was a man’s world. I didn’t really understand what an entrepreneur was,”

Although there is more support for women to go into business today, Lauren explains there are some still some challenges.

For example, she works with her dad and sometimes during meetings people direct questions at her dad because they don’t take her seriously.

Believe in Yourself

“You just have to believe as a woman that you can be successful in business,” said Lauren.

“You do still face sexism. But find something that you are interested in. I am not a hair dresser and I don’t know how to apply extensions. But I love hair, beauty and make-up and that is why I have stuck to that category.”

In 2018, Lauren said she will be focusing on the US and Australian markets, and introducing new salon products.

Lauren’s advice to other entrepreneurs?

“If there is a gap in the market for something that is needed, just go for it.”

Photos Courtesy of Lauren Pope

bottom of page