top of page

Interview: What's it like studying Financial Journalism at City?

Every year, about 90,000 international students come from around the globe to study in the City of London. Patricia Luhanga is one of the thousands of international students who joined London universities this past September. The Zambian national is studying for a Masters in Financial Journalism at City, University of London, one of the most prestigious journalism schools in the UK.


Patricia describes her experience studying at the Islington-based school as "amazing".


"One of my favourite things about the course is that we get a mix of theory and practice. We ask, if X happened, what should we expect next? You really get to learn how to be analytical as a journalist,” says Patricia.


The Financial Journalism masters programme is highly competitive, with only 12 students in the 2017-18 class. Some of its alumni go on to work with the top tier international news organisations after graduation such the Financial Times, Bloomberg, Reuters. Besides studying economics and finance, Patricia is also learning data journalism and, social and digital media skills, which are in high demand in the modern newsrooms.


From Zambia to City


Patricia previously worked as a Public Relations official in Zambia. She was motivated to take the Financial Journalism course at City due to the skill gap in her country.


"My last role was in the banking sector and I would interact with media on a daily basis particularly on issues about the general economic outlook. I would read material produced by economists in banks and I wouldn't really understand much of it. The way financial matters were also reported in the media indicated that journalists too were struggling to grasp these issues,”she recalls.


"I realised there was almost nobody in the country who had formal training in financial journalism. Most journalists are general practitioners and have to learn on the job. So, I looked for courses and found the one at City's, which is world known,” she adds.


One of the perks of studying at City is the opportunity to visit leading financial media institutions such as Bloomberg and Financial Times. As part of their learning Patricia's class will also travel to Belgium, China, and the USA. This will be an opportunity to meet the heads of financial institutions, regulators, and leading financial journalists.


Winning a future leaders scholarship award



Patricia's masters is fully covered by the Chevening Scholarship, the UK Government’s international scholarship scheme aimed to developing global leaders. She is one of 17 students from Zambia who were awarded the scholarship in the 2017-18 academic year.


"The Chevening Scholarship is one of the most exciting things that has ever happened in my life. It is a prestigious and highly competitive scholarship where you really have to prove your worth in the application. To be among 1,700 scholars chosen out of over 63,000 applicants worldwide is absolutely amazing," says Patricia.


Adjusting to life in the City of London


Patricia has travelled to some African countries, but her studies at City brought her to the UK for the first time. Like many other international students she has faced some challenges when adjusting to life in the UK.


"Imagine engaging with someone who asks, ‘where is Zambia?’ Sometimes you feel like the odd one out. But that makes me special. Perhaps me being here gives someone an opportunity to know about Zambia. I never hesitate to sell my country to my lecturers and classmates, " she enthuses.


Patricia has also struggled with the food in London.


"I lost about 4 kilos in my first weeks here. Everywhere I look I see bread. I hate bread. During the first weeks I had challenges because I just didn't know what to eat. I have now found a South African shop that sells some Zambian food and I can cook Nshima occasionally. Nshima is my favourite dish!” says Patricia. Nshima is Zambia's staple food, made from maize flour and water.


What does the future hold for Patricia?


"I would like to work with academia and media institutions to help train financial journalists in Zambia. It would be great to have more journalists in Zambia reporting the Bloomberg way,” she says.


For those looking to study at Financial Journalism at City, Patricia has some advice:


"On my application I reflected on the skills gaps we have in Zambia. I think my previous academic performance was also an advantage. I have always been an A student,” says Patricia. "It is a very competitive programme, so you need to write an application that will stand out. You should reflect on why you need this skill and why you think you are qualified to take the course."

Photos courtesy of Patricia Luhanga

bottom of page